List of Worker’s Compensation Bureaus by State

Workers compensation is defined as a form of insurance providing wage replacement and medical benefits to employees injured in the course of employment in exchange for mandatory relinquishment of the employee’s right to sue his or her employer for the tort of negligence. Every state has a Workers Compensation Division that is responsible for the administration of the state Workers’ Compensation Law to ensure proper payment of benefits to employees injured on the job and encourage safety in the workplace. The main function of the Division is to ensure proper payment of compensation benefits along with necessary medical attention to employees injured on the job or their dependents in case of death. Information and services are also provided to claimants, employers, insurance companies, attorneys, judges, legislators, labor and management groups, government agencies and other parties.

The Division also administers the rules and regulations for individual self-insurers and group self-insurers. Major activities include compliance inspections, safety promotion, auditing and enforcing claims payments and settlements, compiling injury and cost statistics, mediating disputes, and establishing and regulating cost containment standards.

Because Workers Compensation are state programs, they are unique and specific to each and every state. They normally have their own individual bureau which is why I choose to generate a list of links and resources for all 50 states as well as the Virgin Islands, Guam and Puerto Rico.

List of Worker’s Compensation Bureaus by State


AlabamaAlabama Department of Labor 

AlaskaAlaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development

ArizonaIndustrial Commission of Arizona

ArkansasArkansas Workers Compensation Commission

CaliforniaDepartment of Industrial Relations

ColoradoColorado Department of Labor and Employment

ConnecticutConnecticut Workers Compensation Commission

DelawareDelaware State Office of Workers Compensation

District of ColumbiaWorkers Compensation Department of Employer Services

FloridaFlorida Division of Workers Compensation

GeorgiaGeorgia State Board of Workers Compensation

GuamGuam Department of Labor

HawaiiState of Hawaii Disability Compensation Division

IdahoIdaho Industrial Commission

IllinoisIllinois Workers Compensation Commission

IndianaIndiana Workers Compensation Board

IowaIowa Workforce Development

KansasKansas Department of Labor Workers Comp

KentuckyKentucky Departments of Workers Claims

LouisianaLouisiana Workforce Commission

MaineMaine Compensation Board

MarylandMaryland Workers Compensation Commission

MassachusettsMassachusetts Labor and Workforce Development

MichiganMichigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs

MississippiMississippi Workers Compensation Commission

MissouriMissouri Department of Labor and Industrial Relations

MontanaMontana Department of Labor and Industry

NebraskaNebraska Workers Compensation Court

NevadaNevada Department of Business and Industry

New HampshireNew Hampshire Department of Labor Workers Compensation 

New JerseyState of New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development

New MexicoState of New Mexico Workers Compensation Administration

New YorkNew York State Workers Compensation Board

North CarolinaNorth Carolina Industrial Commission

North DakotaNorth Dakota Workforce Safety and Insurance

OhioOhio Division of Workers Compensation

OklahomaOklahoma Insurance Department – Workers Compensation

OregonOregon Workers Compensation Division

PennsylvaniaPennsylvania Bureau of Workers Compensation

Puerto RicoPuerto Rico Industrial Division

Rhode IslandRhode Island Department of Labor and Training Workers Compensation 

South CarolinaState of South Carolina Workers Compensation Commission

South DakotaSouth Dakota Department of Labor Workers Compensation

TennesseeTennessee Department of Labor and Workforce Development

TexasTexas Department of Insurance 

UtahUtah Labor Commission

VermontVermont Department of Labor Workers Compensation 

VirginiaVirginia Workers Compensation Commission

Virgin IslandsU.S. Virgin Islands Department of Labor

Washington –  Washington State Department of Labor and Industries

West VirginiaWest Virginia Offices of the Insurance Commission

WisconsinWisconsin Department of Workforce

WyomingWyoming Department of Workforce Services

Posted in

Jessica Miller-Merrell

Learn more about Jessica Miller-Merrell, SPHR, SHRM-SCP, the founder of Workology, a workplace HR resource, and the host of the Workology Podcast. More of her blogs can be found here.

Reader Interactions



Pin It on Pinterest